RSS Feed

Sewing Tizzy!

Posted on

I have been in a sewing tizzy. Which I am grateful for, as I was beginning to wonder where I would get energy for.  Originally our plans for this years faire garb were to go as pirates, but I just can’t be satisfied with that. I love going as upper class/nobility. So what did I do? I started working on all new matching garb for the family.  I have this great hunter green velvet fabric that I purchased from a friend and it has been a godsend.  I am so proud to say that so far, all of my projects have been done with materials that I already have on hand!

First up, is Charlotte’s new ren faire dress 🙂

Squee! I love baby clothes. So little and cute and easy to make.

Next up is my husbands new doublet.  Same hunter green fabric, and all made with the fabric I have on hand.  It is not completely finished as I have to go get the clasps for the front closures, AND grommet the sides.  I need him to put it on so I can mark the grommets. But my husband has a seriously weird body, hence the grommets on the side.  I love the way it turned out.  I had to draft the pattern based off of last years doublet since I could not find the pattern ANYWHERE! But it looks good to me!

Now, my gown I have not started yet, as I do not know what my measurements will be after the baby is born.  But more than likely, I will be making the skirt ahead of time, as I can always adjust the waist band.  I can also start on the sleeves which will be italian inspired. Yes I know, italian inspired sleeves on a tudor gown? Weird. And I do need to go out and purchase some cotton fabric to make my partlet blouse.

I am now about to start on my hat, which I have been very excited to work on. So more pictures to come soon! Happy sewing!

About Marisa

I am a 25 year old nerdy, soon to be mama and craft fanatic. I sew, make and decorate cakes, scrapbook, photography, and anything creative. I love Dr. Who and Dirty Jobs, along with Law and Order and Family Guy. I have an obsession with the Bichon Frise, Johnny Depp, and Prince. I am the most random person you have probably ever met, hugely open minded. I am me, always going to be me, and love it!

Leave a Reply

