Fabric Fiasco!!!

Posted on

So ren fair is about a month away, and I have yet to work on my gown. The main issue is the fabric crisis I am having. I have yards and yards of this gorgeous silver fabric, but upon further investigation, it turns out the fabric is way to thin to do anything with. So I visited JoAnns where I always see lots of fabric I want, but surprisingly nothing I wanted.

So I ordered a couple of swatches from https://www.800fabrics.com/new_home.php, and hopefully when they get here I can make up my mind. I did find this great silver drapery fabric, on sale for $3.99 or $4.99, can’t remember, so if the swatch is perfect, then I will be ordering it asap! I hope it is perfect though, because the pattern looks really pretty.

Silver Fabric

i think it is absolutely perfect for what I wanted. I was going to go with a black underskirt, since I have a black chemise already, and black trim.

There was this PERFECT dark gray/blackish pearl trim at JoAnns, but at 24.99 a yard I definitely had to put it back. Hopefully I can find something similar, because it was perfect!

The fabric is not only for my dress, but for my husbands doublet that I will be making. I know I have to get started soon, but I need the fabric to get here!!!

I typically do two gowns a season, I mean I could wear the two gowns I wore last season, but as my sewing skills expand, I love to create new things, that and being that I am at home since I am on disability, lol. It gives me something to do. For the second gown I was thinking of this

blue

my husband loves blue, so I figured he would enjoy this. we are trying to go for a matching theme this year. I also have to get some black crushed velvet to make him a new pair of tights. there is nothing wrong with his old tights, but he is looking for something new, and I can understand that lol. ren fairs are the only time that i can get him excited with clothing.

well i need to finish laundry and cleaning, then i have to visit my mother

oh wait, here is another fabric i was considering

blackdamsk

im not too sure about using it as a fabric for my ren fair gown, or any ren fair item for that matter. but i do absolutely adore the pattern, and i was thinking about getting it anyway, just so i can make a really cute corset. add some frilly lace along the bottom. yes? no? we will see!

happy sewing!

About Marisa

I am a 25 year old nerdy, soon to be mama and craft fanatic. I sew, make and decorate cakes, scrapbook, photography, and anything creative. I love Dr. Who and Dirty Jobs, along with Law and Order and Family Guy. I have an obsession with the Bichon Frise, Johnny Depp, and Prince. I am the most random person you have probably ever met, hugely open minded. I am me, always going to be me, and love it!

One response »

  1. that black and white fabric would make the best steampunk corset EVER. SEriously. Make it for me now.

    Reply

Leave a comment